Home > tech > Was PhotonLight.com Hacked?

Was PhotonLight.com Hacked?

I have blogged about the possible hacking of DnyDns and Infonec.

Today I am blogging about the the company who makes the Photon Light, a brilliant tiny LED-based flashlight. I own 2 of them.

The situation (once again…)

I use a separate unique e-mail address with almost every company / entity that I deal with. This helps me identify the source of any spam or unauthorized sales of my e-mail address because the only groups that know said addresses are myself and the individual company I am dealing with.

For example, I use a unique e-mail address for this WordPress account. So if I hypothetically started receiving spam urging me to “Enlarge your *****” at that e-mail address, I know that either WordPress was hacked or they sold my address.

Fast Forward To Today (Once Again…)

I received a spam e-mail for some “Asian Bride” website at the e-mail address used for PhotonLight.com. The only parties outside myself that know this address are my e-mail services provider (who hosts dozens of these forwarders) and PhotonLight.com. How did the spammers get my e-mail address? You, the reader, can connect the dots.

General Recommendations

Everybody should use unique passwords for every website / service. This is because, if one site gets compromised, your information might be used to compromise your accounts on other sites. If you used a password on Photonlight.com that was used elsewhere, you should change those passwords immediately.

Categories: tech Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

